Project Dhamma Mudita

The property

Naarntalstrasse 2, 4324 Rechberg, Austria

Municipality of Rechberg

The property is located 40 kilometres east of Linz and 165 kilometres west of Vienna. Dhamma Muditā is only about 15 minutes' walk from the village of Rechberg and is a rural community in the Mühlviertel Nature Park region in Upper Austria. The landscape conservation area, which has existed since 1996, is characterised by a varied hilly landscape with impressive stone formations, natural forests and species-rich meadows.

Surrounded by a forest belt

The site

The property has a total area of 7.2 hectares (outlined in red in the picture), consisting of 3.5 hectares of forest, 2.5 hectares of meadowland and 1.1 hectares of building land. The open areas are surrounded by a protective forest belt. The building land is located in the upper part of the meadow in a south-west exposed slope at about 550 m above sea level.

Already in the 90s the property was dedicated as a spa area. At that time the intention was to build a therapy center but several project ideas failed. In January 2017 the Association for Vipassana Meditation acquired the property and the project is now being implemented step by step. The name of the upcoming seminar centre is Dhamma Mudita.

Milestones so far

2015

Nov

First visit

The property is inspected for the first time by the association.

2017

Feb

Signing the purchase contract

The purchase agreement becomes valid on 2nd February.

2017

Nov

Architect competition

MIA 2 from Linz is the winner.

2019

summer

Temporary building

For association meetings, regular meditation sessions.

2020

Sep

Official construction permit

For construction stage 1 and construction stage 2.

2020

Autumn

Construction of the access road

As well as sewer and water connection work.

The building project

Design guidelines

Embedded in nature

The simple buildings are to be well integrated into the existing slope. This is done with extensively greened monopitch roofs that adapt to the natural slope. The planned building complex consists of several individual houses grouped around a green area - derived from a square courtyard.

Heating is climate-friendly with a combination of renewable energies.

Design features

Architecture

The concept consists of three main elements: (a) The Threshold: This is the reception area in the basement. This is where all the administration takes place. The threshold consciously leads the participant to the upper floor - the entrance to the actual meditation center. (b) The empty center: It could also be described as a landscaped courtyard area. Or as a spacer between above and below, left and right. (c) The vertical and horizontal paths: The entire center is accessed from these paths. The vertical main paths lead over steps, the horizontally located paths access the rooms.

Gradual implementation

Construction Phases

The first step is to build Block A (KDO = Kitchen-Dining-Office). Here, all technical and organisational facilities necessary for the seminar operation are being implemented. These include the kitchen, heating system, technical room, dining hall, as well as individual accommodations and a provisional meditation hall.

Further buildings will be constructed in several phases as soon as the financial and organisational resources are sufficient.

Renderings

Visualizations

Here are some impressions of how the seminar center will look after its completion.

What does Dhamma Mudita mean?

Dhamma means law of nature and is a term of the teaching that is taught in the meditation courses.

Muditā can be translated as "joy," particularly referring to the sympathetic joy at the happiness and accomplishments of others. Muditā is also a result of meditation.

Projekt Dhamma Mudita

Die Liegenschaft

Naarntalstrasse 2, 4324 Rechberg

Gemeinde Rechberg

Die Liegenschaft befindet sich 40 Kilometer östlich von Linz und 165 Kilometer westlich von Wien. Dhamma Muditā liegt nur etwa 15 Gehminuten vom Ort Rechberg entfernt und ist eine ländliche Gemeinde in der Naturparkregion Mühlviertel in Oberösterreich. Das seit 1996 bestehende Landschaftsschutzgebiet zeichnet sich durch eine abwechslungsreiche Hügellandschaft mit eindrücksvollen Steinformationen, naturnahen Wäldern und artenreichen Wiesen aus.

Umgeben von einem Waldgürtel

Das Land

Die Liegenschaft verfügt über eine Gesamtfläche von etwa 7,1 Hektar (im Bild rot umrandet), die sich aus 3,5 Hektar Wald, 2,5 Hektar Wiesenfläche und 1,1 Hektar Bauland zusammensetzen. Die freien Flächen sind von einem schützenden Waldgürtel umgeben. Das Bauland liegt im oberen Bereich der Wiese in einer süd-westlich exponierten Hanglage auf rund 550 m Seehöhe.

Schon in den 90er Jahren wurde die Liegenschaft als Kurgebiet gewidmet. Damals noch mit der Absicht ein Therapiezentrum zu errichten. Mehrere Projektideen scheiterten. Im Januar 2017 erwarb der Verein für Vipassana Meditation die Liegenschaft. Nun wird das Projekt schrittweise umgesetzt. Der Name des entsehenden Seminarzentrums lautet Dhamma Mudita.

Bisherige Meilensteine

2015

Nov

Erste Besichtigung

Das Grundstück wird erstmalig durch den Verein besichtigt.

2017

Feb

Kaufvertragsunterzeichnung

Der Kaufvertrag erlangt am 2. Februar Gültigkeit.

2017

Nov

Architektenwettbewerb

MIA 2 aus Linz geht als Sieger hervor.

2019

Sommer

Provisorisches Gebäude

Für Vereinstreffen, regelmäßige Meditationssitzungen.

2020

Sep

Offizielle Baugenehmigung

Für den Bauabschnitt 1 und Bauabschnitt 2.

2020

Herbst

Bau der Zufahrtsstrasse

Sowie Kanal- und Wasseranschlussarbeiten.

Das Bauvorhaben

Gestalterische Vorgaben

In die Natur eingebettet

Die einfach gehaltenen Gebäude sollen gut in den bestehenden Hang integriert werden. Dies geschieht mit extensiv begrünten Pultdächern, die sich an die natürliche Hangneigung anpassen. Der geplante Gebäudekomplex besteht aus mehreren einzelnen Häusern, die sich um eine Grünfläche – abgeleitet von einem Vierkanthof – gruppieren.

Beheizt wird klimaschonend mit einer Kombination erneuerbarer Energien.

Gestalterische Besonderheiten

Architektur

Das Konzept besteht aus drei wesentlichen Themen: (a) Die Schwelle: Das ist der Empfangsbereich im Souterrain. Hier findet die gesamte Administration statt. Die Schwelle führt den Teilnehmer bewusst in das obere Stockwerk – dem Zugang zum eigentlichen Meditationszentrum. (b) Die leere Mitte: Sie könnte auch als begrünte Hoffläche beschrieben werden. Oder als Abstandhalter zwischen oben und unten, links und rechts. (c) Die vertikalen und horizontalen Wege: Von diesen Wegen aus wird das gesamte Zentrum erschlossen. Die vertikalen Hauptwege führen über Stufen, die horizontal gelegenen Wege erschließen die Zimmer.

Schrittweise Umsetzung

Bauabschnitte

Als erstes wird Block A gebaut (KDO = Kitchen-Dining-Office). Hierbei werden alle technischen und organisatorischen Einrichtungen umgesetzt, die für den Seminarbetrieb notwendig sind. Hierzu zählen unter anderem Küche, Heizungsystem, Technikraum, Speisesaal, sowie einzelne Unterkünfte und eine provisorische Meditationshalle.

Weitere Gebäude entstehen in mehreren Bauabschnitten, sobald die finanziellen und organisatorischen Ressourcen hierfür ausreichend sind.

Renderings

Visualisierungen

Hier einige Impressionen wie sich das Seminarzentrum nach der Fertigstellung darstellt.

Was bedeutet Dhamma Mudita?

Dhamma meint Naturgesetz und ist eine Bezeichnung der Lehre, die in den Meditationskursen vermittelt wird.

Muditā kann als „Freude“ übersetzt werden, wobei besonders die Mitfreude an dem Glück und den Errungenschaften anderer gemeint ist. Muditā ist auch ein Ergebnis der Meditation.